Monday Motivator: Rocking the Eclipse

Nations, like stars, are entitled to eclipse. All is well, provided the light returns and the eclipse does not become endless night. Dawn and resurrection are synonymous. The reappearance of the light is the same as the survival of the soul. — Victor Hugo

Today was the total eclipse. Like many people, I had fretted over this day for a while. What would happen if it rained? What if my glasses didn’t work? Or I lost them? Would my eclipse t-shirt arrive in time? Most of all, what if the eclipse turned out to be a disappointment?

Let’s face it. By the time you reach my age, you have learned that the event does not always live up to the hype. But nature did not disappoint today. The light right before the totality is something I will never forget, and I now truly understand why our ancestors associated eclipses with the supernatural.

If I had been alone at my house, the eclipse would have been special. But I was lucky that my college made an event out of it. We joked and laughed. We snacked. We took goofy pictures of each other in our glasses. And when the sun disappeared, there was a second of communal silent awe before we broke into applause.

It was special. And a great start to the school year.

Leave a Reply

