Monday Motivator: Bite Your Tongue

It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. — Mark Twain

It is better to keep your fingers off the keyboard and let people think  you are a fool than to type a comment and remove all doubt.– The Jolly Librarian

I belong to a community Facebook page. I wanted to find out where was the best place to buy homegrown vegetables or find a good handyman. Instead most days, I am inundated with people complaining about service at a restaurant or turning fairly benign discussions into political rants.

One day, when a discussion became especially egregious, I couldn’t resist and made a comment. I learned a hard lesson. On this particular page, once you comment, you can’t go back. All day, I kept getting pings that someone else had made a comment on the discussion. Most people were not replying to me. A few people did reply, and they were not there to have a serious discussion (Yeah, I know. What was I thinking?), but to make fun of me, be funny themselves, or make a totally different point and had mistakenly posted as a reply. It was a tiring day.

But I learned my lesson. Now, unless I think the person truly wants my input, I bite my virtual lip and keep my fingers off the keyboard. When folks share an article, I look at the source. If it’s heavily biased, then I know they don’t want a discussion, so I keep my fingers off the keyboard.

A wise person once said, “You don’t have to attend every argument to which you’re invited.” That saying should be made into a pop-up for every time we log into Facebook or Twitter.

By the way, I’m still a member of the neighborhood group because I still need that handyman.

 

Leave a Reply

