Monday Motivator: Work on the Actual Problem

Monday Motivator: Focus on the Problem at Hand

In the middle of a week full of problems, one more popped up, and I reacted badly. To say I reacted badly is an understatement. It was not my finest moment, and I will look back with embarrassment at my reaction for a very long time.

For a few days, I gave myself an out that it was just the straw that broke the camel’s back. Even saints might go a little nut if they had as many problems as I faced last week. But I later realized that was not it all. Yes, it was not a good week. But it wasn’t the final problem that sent me over the edge. It was the type of problem that occurred.

It was similar to one I had faced in the past, one that went on for months, that caused a great deal of stress every single day. While not even realizing it, I reacted as if that problem had returned and I was caught in that horrible web again.

When I finally took some time to think, I was able to separate my kneejerk reaction from the actual problem at hand. I was able to stop acting like a jerk and look toward a solution. I was able to see the differences in the two situations.

Once I looked at the actual problem in front of me, I could cast off the anger and anxiety from before and set about solving it.

Leave a comment