Monday Motivator: Be Like Louise

Last week, I had dinner with my favorite six-year-old, Louise. As usual she taught me some basic life lessons.

I asked if she had made any changes since turning six three weeks ago.

She nodded. “Yes. I no longer like princesses, and I like swimming.”

Lesson 1: Never let a birthday go by without making a change. Don’t get stuck in a rut.

Then the server took her order and asked if she wanted ketchup. She nodded enthusiastically. Her mother sighed.

“She always asks for ketchup and never eats it.”

A little later, when informed her meal came with an orange pushup, she nodded enthusiastically again, even though she had no idea what it was.

Lesson 2: Say yes to stuff. You never know when you might change your mind about ketchup. And the dessert might be tasty. (It was.)

In general, it’s good to hang out with six-year-olds every so often. They have a lot to teach us about life.

Leave a comment